Glowing Exhaust

10 replies to this topic
  • wildair99

Posted August 03, 2001 - 06:02 AM

I just bought a new 2001 YZ 426, i just gave it its first oil change last nite, when i was thru, i cranked it and let it idle for about 2 to 3 minutes, i noticed that the exhaust pipe was glowing soon as it comes out of the cylinder, is this normal? Once i started riding it, it didnt glow as much, but still did glow some, is this normal???? I checked to make sure i have oil pressure and everything seems to be working fine, someone fill me in!!!!!!

• Roostie_1

Posted August 03, 2001 - 06:18 AM

Yes the glowing is a normal phenomenom. My'01 is getting kind of old now and it still does it a bit. You should see a WR with the baffle still in, it's practically a guiding light

• bjscheel

Posted August 03, 2001 - 06:19 AM

That is just one of the things you will have to get used to. These are four strokes and yes it is normal for them to have glowing red exhaust.

• flyinguitars

Posted August 03, 2001 - 06:37 AM

Welcome to the 426, the glowing head pipe is normal.

• eBayThumper

Posted August 03, 2001 - 08:42 AM

Ah yes,,,the wicked glow. I love it! Makes me warm just thinking about it.

Ride em if ya got em!

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • MotoStyle

Posted August 03, 2001 - 09:55 PM

Anyone have any marshmallows? :)

• Chris_Slade

Posted August 03, 2001 - 10:05 AM

Man, I pity you guys should you go down and your leg get pinned under the pipe....Perhaps a form of 426 Branding?

'01 KTM 520 SX
'95 KX 250
AMA Dist 6 Member
Hare Scramble Class B #523

• MotoStyle

Posted August 03, 2001 - 10:36 AM

Well, that's what the guard is for. Your KTM has two pipes to brand you. Tatoo's anyone? KTM is having a double feature pipe tatooing at their next convention. :)

• az426

Posted August 03, 2001 - 04:28 PM

man, i must be lucky-my 01' doesnt glow night or day--better be careful!

• MikeOK