XR650L - Jetting Question

13 replies to this topic
  • TZAR

Posted October 02, 2003 - 11:47 PM

I'm a newbie, this is an unreal site. Thanks in advance.

I have two jetting/tuning questions:

I have a '04 XR650L and have uncorked just about everything. Spending mega bucks...motard...Sick! :)

1.) Redrilling the holes in the carb slide to 5/32; what is the purpose? Pros? Cons? I don't remember this being mentioned in my BajaD jet kit instructions. Should I do this?

2.) After the uncorking, the power and feel is unreal, good! However, I find that at a stop, the idol tends to slowly drop drop drop and sometimes shuts me down. Thus, I am always having to keep the throttle moving around at stops... Any ideas here?

• Grimmer

Posted October 03, 2003 - 06:43 AM

If you bought the newer BD kit which you most likely did being an '04' then drilling is not needed. BD now includes a softer spring in the kit which takes the place of the 5/32 hole you had to drill in the old days. The reason for all this is because the L has a CV type carburetor.

My friend has the L with a BD kit installed and it performs great. Did you have an aftermarket exhaust? My thoughts on the idle down problem are that you need to adjust your fuel screw. The L has a tab on it to prevent to much adjustment, so I would grind it off. Chances are that you are burning to lean at idle so I would open that fuel screw up a half turn. See if that make a difference for you. Do you know the procedure to adjust your fuel screw properly?

• TZAR

Posted October 03, 2003 - 10:31 AM

Hi Grimmer,

Great information.

So I don't need to drill out the holes. Great! :)

I do have a full system (can & header). I'm running a T4 Race with a BigGun header (Loud & Flowing). I did cut the FM tab, and now have it set to 3.5 turns out (BajaD recomm 2.5 out). I don't know of any procedure to follow (feel and gut?). Do you think I should move the jet pin up (4 notches) instead?