2012 YZ450 front caliper

12 replies to this topic
  • Thumper38

Posted January 04, 2012 - 05:45 AM

So I got to ride my new 450 this past weekend and I love it in every way except the front brakes. I put a EBC 280mm rotor on it and there strong but not nearly as strong as my KX450. I have a Honda master cylinder and a SS line going on next. So is there another caliper that is stronger than what I have now? (Honda, Brembo). I really want the strongest brakes I can get, Im 230#'s 6'3" so I need the stopping power. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

• 2grimjim

Posted January 04, 2012 - 07:04 AM

So I got to ride my new 450 this past weekend and I love it in every way except the front brakes. I put a EBC 280mm rotor on it and there strong but not nearly as strong as my KX450. I have a Honda master cylinder and a SS line going on next. So is there another caliper that is stronger than what I have now? (Honda, Brembo). I really want the strongest brakes I can get, Im 230#'s 6'3" so I need the stopping power. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Haven't done it myself, but I hear that the '07 and earlier caliper will fit on the '08+ caliper bracket.

• grayracer513

Posted January 04, 2012 - 08:17 AM

See if you can find a set of pads from a CRF or KXF that will fit. CRF450 pads were the cheap fix for the '07 and earlier models.

• HRC

Posted January 04, 2012 - 11:43 AM

I put on the Braking Batfly 270mm rotor and got a big improvment.

• tech24

Posted January 04, 2012 - 01:50 PM

I put on the Braking Batfly 270mm rotor and got a big improvment.

what pads, stock?

• HRC

Posted January 04, 2012 - 02:00 PM

what pads, stock?

I use Braking pads....same as those included in the Batfly-kit

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • tech24

Posted January 04, 2012 - 02:04 PM

I use Braking pads....same as those included in the Batfly-kit