tools for fork oil change

8 replies to this topic
  • sirthumpalot

Posted July 31, 2001 - 09:49 PM

Are there any special tools required to change the fork oil (to disassemble any internal parts of the fork)?

• mikeolichney

Posted July 31, 2001 - 10:13 AM

Not really. It helps to have a thin wrench to get the fork cap off so you can remove the spring. I have a bicycle wrench that works well.

Now if you are going to change the fork seals, you will want a seal driver, mine was about $60.

Its really easy to do this work.

• sirthumpalot

Posted July 31, 2001 - 11:00 AM

Is it necessary to remove the springs from the caps while changing the oil? I'm a newbie to cartridge forks. :)

Thanks!!

• mikeolichney

Posted July 31, 2001 - 11:42 AM

you set the fork oil height with the springs out. Check your manual.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • MotoStyle

Posted July 31, 2001 - 12:56 PM

SirT,