Taking the step from 250F to the 450F

14 replies to this topic
  • HooliganR6

Posted December 31, 2011 - 03:00 PM

First, let me apologize for a pretty obvious question as I am sure the jump power wise from the 250F to the 450F is substantial. I did some searching on TT and google but just wanted to get some first hand feedback from those who have made the jump from a 250F to a 450F.

I currently ride a 06' YZ250F and am in the market to buy a new bike. The 2012 YZ450F is what I would like to purchase, but am worried about the extra 20lbs and 20+ more HP. I have been riding street bikes for over 16 years, but just started riding dirt back in 06'. Never raced, but ride mostly MX type environments, with some trail riding mixed in. If I did race, I would def be C-Class.

So basically...if I take it easy and work my way into it with the 450F should I be alright? Or should I just stick with another 250F?

Thanks in advance!

• DC_Excitement

Posted December 31, 2011 - 03:51 PM

i had one of each for years. when it came down to racing i like the 250f better because it dident beat me up that much(im only 145lbs) but just trail riding and going to practice tracks and stuff i loved the 450.

sounds like you have plenty of riding experince. i think you would love the 450:thumbsup:

• heezay

Posted December 31, 2011 - 04:36 PM

You will be more than fine with a 4fif, They have good power, but not too much, definitely controllable. I know the first time riding my bike, I was stoked on how it had that bark. I could get out of stuff on my 450 that felt too sketchy on my old bike.

Soon you'll be asking if theres any way to get a little more out of the bike.

• Kaw_04_250f

Posted December 31, 2011 - 06:36 PM

I just made the switch this fall and love it. I am old and slow and I like the fact that you don't have to have the bike in the high rev's like you do the 250 and you are still doing work!

• yamaduner

Posted January 01, 2012 - 12:13 PM