Anyone Running Stock Suspension on There XR650?

5 replies to this topic
  • slowxr

Posted September 30, 2003 - 08:23 AM

I was thinking of upgrading from and xr600 to an xr650.
I think I'm an advanced beginner. I ride desert/Gorman etc. Is the stock suspension acceptable for a 190lb rider of my ability?
Is seems that everyone I talk to upgrades the suspension, so I was curious if anyone ran it stock and what thoughts they had on it.

• zeke79

Posted September 30, 2003 - 08:46 AM

I have left mine stock. with only a fork oil change. I weigh about 215 and in all honesty pretty much a C class possibly(I like to think its possible)a B class rider. I dont think any suspension mods would hurt as I believe they are some of the best money you can spend on your bike, i just haven't gotten around to it on my xr650r. I can tell you that stock to stock you cannot compare the 650 to the 600! 650 is waaay better out of the box.

• XR/CRDave

Posted September 30, 2003 - 11:22 AM

My 00 650 suspension is stock and seems to perform very well. I had a 95 XR600 that I had the suspension done on about a year after I got it. What a difference! It was alot better than stock, it could take some pretty big hits and still ride so smooth it the choppy stuff. The 650 stock suspension is better in high speed ruff terrain than a modified 600's suspension, probably due to its less flexy frame. I think you could get by with stock suspension on a 650 and have it done later when $'s permits.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • qadsan

Posted September 30, 2003 - 11:37 AM