Opinions on YZ timing a WR.....

20 replies to this topic
  • holeshot426

Posted September 29, 2003 - 09:59 AM

I was thinking about YZ timing my '02 WR426 and wanted to get some opinions from you guys as to performance gains, any drawbacks, or just plain is it worth it. My bike is running killer right now, and I kind of hate to mess with a good thing. I have read posts where everyone is happy with YZ timing, but what do you guys think about losing some bottom end, or hard starting or anything like that. I am not a mechanic, but am willing to take the time to figure it out myself. Its not that difficult is it? Any reason not to do it? I am a woods/off road rider mostly, so I'm thinkin' that this will be a good mod for me, as long as I dont lose too much bottom end. Thanks for the input.... :)

• banffboy

Posted September 29, 2003 - 11:39 AM

I love the YZ timing on my bike. I also had a 98 WR that was YZ timed. You do lose a bit off the bottom, but I like the way the bike builds rev's now, seems to work great in the woods(that's all i ride). You'll probably have to re-jet also. Do it you can always go back if you don't like it

• Hick

Posted September 29, 2003 - 03:13 PM

In my experience it doesn't affect the jetting, although it may unmask a jetting problem that is already there. The two bikes I've tried this on already had jetting almost identical to my YZ.

The low end feels weaker, but that may be due to the very strong run up into the mid range. I can ride a long wheely more confidently (I suck at wheelies) on the WR due to the smoother transition. I can see where in limited traction situations the WR timing has an advantage, but other than that I see no real reason not to try it.

Hope this helps.

• racemile

Posted September 29, 2003 - 03:39 PM

Do it!!!

You won't miss a thing and on those huge gnarly hill climbs......just open the throttle and lean forward........then get ready to shift up as you head up the hill :D :D :D :D :) :D

• Gadsen