03 YZ450F Top End Help

10 replies to this topic
  • August12

Posted November 29, 2011 - 03:45 PM

To Rebuild Or not to Rebuild

About a year ago I decided to redo my yz450. New plastic, Tires, Suspension, Pro tapers, Graphics...
Bike ran and looked the best it ever had.

Posted Image

This year the bike starts having a hard time starting cold. It gets worse and worse.
To the point that our last day riding in the desert i always pulled up to the top of the
hill so i could bump start it. Got it home tore it apart checked the valves and the
intake valves were closed tight and the exhaust valves were close to spec .17mm.
So re shimmed it put a new spark plug and fired right up.

I felt awww inside. This is my first time working on a four stoke. Grew up with two stokes...
hell of a lot easier.

Get out to Ridgecrest over turkey day and runs for about 30 min strong..
Come out of a corner and the bike just freezes up. So i walk it back to the trailer and park it..
Good thing i brought my extra bike 96 klx 650. What a pig but at least i got to ride.
So here is my delema. Now what to do.
I tore the head off and it looks like crap.. Pics below.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Edited by August12, November 29, 2011 - 06:53 PM.

• August12

Posted November 29, 2011 - 06:51 PM

Im thinking I'm going to need.

Kibble White Valves and Spring Kit
Wiseco HC Pisto 13.5:1
HotCams Stage 1 Intake/Exhaust
Chain Tensioner
Cam Chain

I really don't know what's wrong with it but figured this would cover it.

THOUGHTS.....

• scrubbin627

Posted November 29, 2011 - 07:02 PM

Nice looking yz. It looks like some of the valves hit the piston, are you sure you shimmed it correctly?

• August12

Posted November 29, 2011 - 07:09 PM

yah, Could the carbon build up had something to do with it. Also the plug i pulled out of it was just a ball of black. I wish i had the confidence to rebuild it before it was to late.
Now it might not be worth it.

• blueberg17