are these engines noisey

5 replies to this topic
  • tomtom1

Posted November 06, 2011 - 10:35 AM

Hi all im new to wr/yzf and was wondering if the engines on wr450 are genraly noisey i have wr450 03 model that starts hot or cold ticks over all day long and has loads of comp and goes well doesnt smoke i was told engine had been refurbed and given old piston,timing chain, chain adjuster,cams,and con rod so i belive him, but it does sound agricutaral i know its hard to say what something should sound like when you can't hear it but was just just wondering if thats how they are??

• zibbit u2

Posted November 06, 2011 - 11:05 AM

yes they're noisy, especially if you have a metal skid plate under the motor as it reflects all that sound towards the rider.

• chris1968

Posted November 06, 2011 - 11:11 AM

+1 for noisy

You have to learn to ignore it or you will convince yourself something is wrong.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • pymn2001

Posted November 06, 2011 - 02:48 PM

have had a wr from a 400 , to steel frame 450 , to new in 08 450 and they still get me jittery after a while you catch a noise and think that cant be right but in all honesty they've never gone wrong, and mine generally get a dose of wales which aint easy on bikes. does sound like a bag of spanners in a tin best fix ? ear plugs same as turning up the radio in a car:ride:

• tomtom1

Posted November 07, 2011 - 11:17 AM

Thanks for getting back to me, thats good to know, thats exactly what i do pymn2001 a different noise every other corner,(could make you paranoid) and i do have the ally bash plate so all makes sence now,now i know alls ok i will learn to ignor the noise or stick some ear plugs, i thought that was the case but thought i best check with you guys
Thanks again

• zokalr13

Posted November 07, 2011 - 12:39 PM