WR426?? Jumps??

9 replies to this topic
  • pl1985

Posted October 23, 2011 - 12:26 AM

I am new to riding and have just bought an 01 model WR426 and noticed after trying a few jumps its my favourite part of riding so far. I have noticed other riders are getting much more height and distance as well as landing smoother than i am. Is this bike Ok/Ideal for jumps (What are the pros/cons for jumping with this bike)???? Is there a limit on the lenght or height this bike can handle??

Edited by pl1985, October 23, 2011 - 01:33 AM.

• BoxcarWilly

Posted October 23, 2011 - 07:35 AM

well for starters that bike is a tank, but it can be jumped just dont try to push its limits a 250 2t is the best jumping bike though. have fun and try not to die.

• J_Daniels

Posted October 23, 2011 - 08:34 AM

Since you have a WR, you have an offroad suspension, unless a previous owner has modified it. That means it is designed to soak up bumps and keep the tires planted on the ground when hauling on trails. What this equates to is a bike that is both mushy on compression and springy on rebound- so then when you go and land a jump the bike bottoms out and then pogos up. For track riding/ jumping, you want a stiffer suspension (stiffer compression, slower rebound) and can crank the clickers in A LOT from the recommended settings to help achieve this. Not knowing how recently the suspension has been serviced, it's hard to say how well it will work, but play with stiffer clicker settings and you'll probably find the bike will jump a lot better.

• GodHunter

Posted October 23, 2011 - 09:29 AM

well for starters that bike is a tank, but it can be jumped just dont try to push its limits [COLOR="Red"]a 250 2t is the best jumping bike though[/COLOR]. have fun and try not to die.