Lowered foot pegs yz450f for tall rider

7 replies to this topic
  • BMuu

Posted October 22, 2011 - 04:40 PM

Do I need these? And who makes a good set?

I am 6'1" 34" inseam and am a beginner MX racer.

I find that when I try to grip the seat with my knees that my knees are just on to slightly above the top of the seat.

Since I am a beginner I would like to get feedback to see if this is really what I need before I go blowing $100+ on foot pegs. The only ones I have seen are these. http://www.motorcycl...WT.ac=Cart_Item (fastway evolution)

• Steel Panther

Posted October 23, 2011 - 10:15 AM

Depending on what year yzf you have you may have to buy the fastway mounts as well if you want to run them in the "low boy" position, that turns out to be pretty pricey. I went with system tech racing lowered footpeg mounts with the stock footpegs and am very happy with them, and if I ever feel the need to go lower I can buy the fastway pegs and run them in the low position.

• BMuu

Posted October 23, 2011 - 11:42 AM

How tall are you? My bike is a 2006 yz450f

• Steel Panther

Posted October 23, 2011 - 10:40 PM

6'4", I needed the lower mounts and a tall seat for my knees to grab seat.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • YamaLink

Posted October 24, 2011 - 05:20 AM

Lowered and wider pegs will do wonders for your comfort and bike control! Just make sure you get some that aren't slippery like soap bars when things get muddy.

• yzdaddy

Posted October 24, 2011 - 06:12 AM

bm you might wanna think about raising the bars a touch, i m like panther i m 6 4 also. i dropped pegs and raised bars its alot more comfortable.

• stringbeanWilly

Posted November 05, 2011 - 06:01 PM