Exhaust Wrap for 2010-2012 YZ450

16 replies to this topic
  • FZ1426

Posted October 19, 2011 - 05:06 PM

Anybody ever seen or done an exhaust wrapping on the header/pipe of the '10-'12 YZ's?

Some of the early speculation on the design was concern over the shock being (over) heated by the exhaust. I can see that happening in certain conditions or long periods without airflow. But it seems like wrapping it might be a good idea in general.

Any thoughts or experience with this?

• DC_Excitement

Posted October 19, 2011 - 06:41 PM

when i first saw pics of the 10 i loved the fact that i wouldent smash headers any more, (i have bad luck with them). but i was thinking the same thing. im not a pro but im a solid amature rider and i never noticed shock fade. but im out of shape now and i cant do 20+ 2 anymore. i have noticed that when i do some slow trail riding my seat get hot from the exhaust.

i know alot of people claim that the rear suspension is the reason why stewart crashed out alot this year. i know he rides like a nut but i wonder if its true also. i herd he may sign with JGR and there dong different things with the rear shock, possibly even making there own.

• FZ1426

Posted October 19, 2011 - 07:04 PM

when i first saw pics of the 10 i loved the fact that i wouldent smash headers any more, (i have bad luck with them). but i was thinking the same thing. im not a pro but im a solid amature rider and i never noticed shock fade. but im out of shape now and i cant do 20+ 2 anymore. i have noticed that when i do some slow trail riding my seat get hot from the exhaust.

i know alot of people claim that the rear suspension is the reason why stewart crashed out alot this year. i know he rides like a nut but i wonder if its true also. i herd he may sign with JGR and there dong different things with the rear shock, possibly even making there own.