01 426 Lighting Question

8 replies to this topic
  • bfogelma

Posted October 18, 2011 - 01:38 PM

I just recently bought a 426 that is plated here in CA... and was told by Baja Designs that I have to get the WR stator, flywheel, and CDI. Now Im expecting to feel a little difference in power with the WR flywheel, but what should i expect from the CDI? Is it going to change the power output that much? what about cams and timing? Im relatively new to bike electrical and am not sure at all how the new CDI is going to be. I've heard that you can just run the WR stator and flywheel and modify the stator to work with the YZ CDI, which is a better option?
Thanks guys.

• RickyStator

Posted October 18, 2011 - 01:41 PM

You dont need the CDI.

• bfogelma

Posted October 18, 2011 - 01:50 PM

ok. why would baja designs say i do? i just bought a OEM one from the TT store, but still expensive as hell.... any benefits to having the WR one at all? Will the WR cdi affect power?

• grayracer513

Posted October 18, 2011 - 02:24 PM

The YZF and WRF CDI's operate off of two different electrical systems. The reason Ricky Stator told you that you don't need the WR is because the WR stator can be fairly easily modified to work with the YZF CDI. BD was probably basing their statement on the premise that you would use the stock parts as they are.

The WR flywheel will not cost you any horsepower at all, although you might notice a difference in the acceleration in the first two gears only, but it will probably be a good thing rather than a negative. The CDI also will not really reduce the power very noticeably.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • bfogelma

Posted October 18, 2011 - 02:35 PM

so thats all i'd have to do to the wr stator to properly work with the YZ cdi?

• RickyStator

Posted October 18, 2011 - 02:49 PM

so thats all i'd have to do to the wr stator to properly work with the YZ cdi?