blown midvalve?

5 replies to this topic
  • mikeolichney

Posted July 08, 2001 - 05:07 AM

I rode my friends identical YZ426 and even at the same fork clicker settings, his is much more plush. Mine delivers a jarring feeling on sharp hits. Backing out the compression clicker doesn't really help, feels more mushy in corners but still a sharp jolt. My oil height is stock. Could I have blown my midvalve after a year (MX track 2x per week)? I replaced the oil and fork seals once. I am a novice MX rider, 6' 185 lb. (Funny, my WR250 feels way plusher and does not bottom very easily). Is it worth it to do the gold valves to prevent this from happening again?

• holeshot

Posted July 08, 2001 - 05:48 AM

I just had the '00 426 forks done by RG3 (they're within driving distance from where I live).

They claim that the "blown midvalve" thing is blown out of proportion, and there is rarely a problem with it. Those guys in MXA must hit 120ft doubles 100 times a day. I've come up very short on a few jumps (front wheel first) and my midvalve wasn't "blown".

I haven't had a chance to do much riding on the RG3 setup, but it felt very good on the rides I've done. RG3 believes in working with the stock parts on the forks, and claims "gold valves" etc. are just expensive gimicks, but that's just their opinion (not necessarily mine).

Some have spent 500$ on their 426 forks and still weren't happy......

• mikeolichney

Posted July 09, 2001 - 10:16 AM

Thanks for the input. Let me know if you like the RG3 mods with more time, and if you think it was worth the money.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • WR_Jason

Posted July 09, 2001 - 12:39 PM