2012 KTM 300 XC-W vs 2012 250 SX

20 replies to this topic
  • Reef

Posted September 19, 2011 - 08:12 AM

I'm trying to weigh the pro's and con's of the 300 XC-W and 250 SX, and I'm looking for some advice.

What type of riding am I doing? Mostly trails in Florida. Sand and single track. A see the occassional trip to the MX track on the horizon.

I'm a relative dirt bike novice. However I've been riding period for 30 years. I know it's a different game. Typically I ride in short bursts. Hour to hour and half max.

I just sold my CRF450R this morning.

I'm a bigger person at 200 pounds and 6' foot 3".

Back when I was younger I grew up on 2 smokes, and KTM now seems like the brand to do with.

Thanks for the advice.

• motoxhead

Posted September 19, 2011 - 08:49 AM

250 or 300XC would be my bike of choice if my time was anything more than 50/50 mx/trails.

I bought the 250sx because my time is 90/10 mx/trails. However the larger tank, smoother power, wider tranny made me consider the XC because it is so versatile.

Though at your weight the XC may need stiffer springs. The SX springs will still be soft and the valving will be wrong too.

• Wrfrk

Posted September 19, 2011 - 10:09 AM

motox is right, if you're having a hard time deciding between those 2 bikes, KTM made that decision for you already..... Meet the 300 XC!!

• rusky

Posted September 19, 2011 - 10:26 AM

I'm trying to weigh the pro's and con's of the 300 XC-W and 250 SX, and I'm looking for some advice.

What type of riding am I doing? Mostly trails in Florida. Sand and single track. A see the occassional trip to the MX track on the horizon.

I'm a relative dirt bike novice. However I've been riding period for 30 years. I know it's a different game. Typically I ride in short bursts. Hour to hour and half max.

I just sold my CRF450R this morning.

I'm a bigger person at 200 pounds and 6' foot 3".

Back when I was younger I grew up on 2 smokes, and KTM now seems like the brand to do with.