street worthy 99 yz400f

49 replies to this topic
  • fox400f

Posted September 07, 2011 - 09:44 PM

ok first off hello everybody =). this forum is super awesome ive took en allot of good info from your forum here but theres one thing i couldn't find so im jus going to ask.

ok so i live in cali and i just got a 1999 yz400f and its a dope bike but i really want to make it street worthy cuz of the crazy gas prices. so i went to the dmv today and they said i just need to put lights on it and then get it approved by some one then register it for like 300 bucks and im done...

but i am new to motorcycles, so i dont know a whole lot about dirt bikes and when i googled of other ppl makin yz400s street legal everybody was talkin about how its bad to ride it on the streets and hwy's.

lol so my question is what kind of things would i have to do to my bike to make it run good on the streets and still fun on the trails, and mb every now and then a trip on the hwy for mb an hour or so

• CRF100biker

Posted September 08, 2011 - 01:08 AM

first off it needs a street title. if you didn't get one of those or don't have one of those there is no chance of registering for the road, so forget about it.

second, in what it would cost you to put the street legal bits on a mx bike you could've already went out and bought a street bike that will perform better than the yz400f will on the streets. i just paid $600 for my bike (82 cb450), $112 in taxes and $20 in registration. if you can get a yz400f on the road for cheaper than $732 let me know.

• dalonar

Posted September 08, 2011 - 04:26 AM

the amount you can put into making it street legal will offset the cost of gas. It is very expensive to make a yz street legal

• fox400f

Posted September 08, 2011 - 07:05 AM