Suggestions to help my '03 450 chug better

23 replies to this topic
  • ack1961

Posted August 23, 2011 - 09:14 AM

Hello,

I am new to riding (2 1/2 years), but I've been riding nothing but 2-strokes since I started. This 4-stroke is a new experience.

I just picked up an '03 WR450 from a friend in TX.
The following mods had been done to it.
- Uncorked Airbox
- YZ Ignition Mapping (Grey Wire Mod)
- Jet Kit
- GYRT Exhaust Insert (removed)
- Flywheel Key Fix

The bike was tuned (jetted/exhaust baffle removed) for the wide open spaces of TX and it runs like a champ (after the carb leak issue was addressed) throughout the bands.

The bike starts pretty easy, and idles OK.

It's got great acceleration in all gears and is very fast in the wide open, but I need it to chug a bit better in 2nd gear in the tight NC woods. I've only ridden it once in NC, but I stalled it a half dozen times as I de-accelerate for tight corners (usually in 2nd gear). I might need to clutch it quicker, but I'd love to be able to chug through the tight stuff barely touching the clutch for traction control. I love the E-Start!!

I don't think it's bogging - when I crack the throttle, it responds nicely, and there is steady power as I open it up to WOT.

The current config looks like this:
Gearing - 14/50
Jets - 146 Main; 48 Pilot
Needle - #6 (2nd pos from Top)
Air Screw - 1 3/4 turns out

It's been suggested that I try a 13T front.
I've been reading some Jetting/Performance stickys here, and I may want/need to change the Pilot jet, but I'm certainly no expert.
I thought I'd try here for some suggestions.

Thanks,
Steve

• YamaLink

Posted August 23, 2011 - 01:05 PM

I've run the 13/50 often and it's a rip snortin' tight woods affair......with a bit of an odd gap between 2nd and 3rd. So it's great for 1st and 2nd gear trails but anything more open I like putting a 14/51 on.

Everything else you mentioned sounds good especially the clutch technique.

• Krannie McKranface