New experiences for a long time 2-stroke rider

11 replies to this topic
  • john.hilton@cape.k12.de.u

Posted June 22, 2001 - 04:56 PM

Well, I picked up my new 01 YZ 426 yesterday, so today was spent prepping the bike and adding parts. No big deal I thought, I've been working on bikes for 20 years or so. Well, I've been working on 2-strokes. Today was an interesting experience.

First thing to do, install a 12 oz. flywheel weight. Done this before on RM's, not a problem. Well you can imagine my surprise when I removed the ignition cover only to have about 1 qt. of oil drain out onto my garage floor. Apparently the 426 carries oil in this location. Is this a 4-stroke thing, or a Yamaha thing?

Next fun item: After cleaning up the oil, loosening the nut that holds the flywheel on. On my two-stroke, I had a neat little piece of plastic that screwed into the spark plug hole that kept the piston from completing its stroke. However, the YZ has a spark plug roughly the size of a #2 pencil so the plastic plug wouldn't fit. I finally figured out a way to keep the flywheel from turning when I torqued the nut, it involved screwdrivers, my wife to hold the bike, and a lot of profanity.

Third, the asbestos gasket that goes between the head pipe, and the silencer pipe. My dealer told me that he would have some of these in by Thursday, so I didn't order one. Thursday comes, I pick up the bike, but no gaskets. He tells me that since the bike is new I should be able to reuse the one on the bike when I install the White Brothers E series. Well Yamaha should buy stock in Super Glue, because I'm sure that's what they used to glue that bastard into the stock silencer pipe. I finally did manage to get it out. It was a little beat up, but I'm not going to miss a weekend of riding because of a tattered gasket. Again, lot's of swearing.

By this point I'm quite pissed off.