Clutch Basket Pictures - is this the problem?

10 replies to this topic
  • Captn Kirk

Posted August 02, 2011 - 07:36 AM

Gents:

Need some advice as I am not an expert and know enough to be dangerous. The clutch on this '05 WR450 seems to be either engaged or dis-engaged and I can't find the all impoprtant in-between when hill climbing.

I've read that grooving takes place be searching threads, but found no images so I have attached an image that shows the clutch housing (outer) and clutch boss (inner) and both have visible grooving when under a lights, but are so slight that one can barely feel them by hand.

Can someone tell me if I have found the problem by looking at the pictures please? I would guess the "grooving" is less that .001, but I haven't figured out a way to actually measure them. I thought I would ask here before asking the stealership.

The friction plates (fiber plates) are within spec at 0.119. Manual calls for 0.115 - 0.121. I have not measured the clutch plates (steel discs) because I don't have a true flat surface to use the .004 in feeler gauge as called for. If the discs and plates all look new, what would the chance be that a plate is warped causing the symptoms in comparison to what's in the pic (since I don't really have a way of measuring for warp/cupping)?

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance guys.

Posted Image

Kirk

Edited by Captn Kirk, August 02, 2011 - 07:57 AM.
Typo's

• zlathim

Posted August 02, 2011 - 07:45 AM

I can definately see the grooves, but without being able to actually feel them myself, I can't lend any help with the grooving issue. Someone more knowledgable may be able to tell you what is what just by looking at the picture.

Do you have a glass top coffe table? That would probably be flat enough to measure the warp of the steel plates.

Edited by zlathim, August 02, 2011 - 08:13 AM.

• Captn Kirk

Posted August 02, 2011 - 10:11 AM