Converting YZ to run lights

10 replies to this topic
  • dhowell

Posted June 08, 2001 - 04:20 AM

I am currently contemplating converting my '01 YZ426 to run lights. In my research I have been told several different and confusing things concerning the stator (base essy), rotor (rotor essy / magneto) and ignition coil. I am a competent wrencher, but I am not an electrician by any means. So, I am hoping someone can help shed some light on a few things for me. I have read a few of the old posts and done some research and I know that E-Line and Baja sell a unit ($430-$480) which basically fits over the stock stator and rotor to generate enough additional power to drive lights. But, this unit looks bulky and in the way. I was told that the stator from a WR ($200) is interchangeable with the YZ and generates enough power (120w-130w) to drive a lighting system. This option would allow me to have more power to run lights and keep the slim stock look (the WR and YZ case covers are the same). Here are my questions.
1) Is the WR stator really exchangeable with the YZ?
2) Would I have to get the WR rotor ($150) if I switch to the WR stator?
3) How would this affect the performance of my bike?
4) Are these the only components, which have to be changed (the ignition coil essy for the WR and YZ are the same part number)?
5) Has anyone purchased the WR retrofit ($430) from Baja?
6) If so, is it as bulky as the external stator sold by Baja and E-Line?
7) I feel kind of stupid asking this question, but why does the YZ have a stator since it doesn't have lights?

Sorry about the length. Thanks in advance for your help.

• Snakeman

Posted June 08, 2001 - 09:07 PM

dhowell,

I looked into the same issues a while back, and it looked like alot of expense just to put some lights on the bike, needing to replace the coil and rotor(flywheel), not to mention some ugly for the E-Line conversion.