clutch problem

21 replies to this topic
  • superpump

Posted July 26, 2011 - 09:33 AM

I'm quite new to the sport and have a question. i have a 09 wr450f and at the end of my last ride i noticed when i pulled in the clutch it wanted to drag the back tire like it wasnt engaging fully in neutral it roles fine. i checked the linkage and its all tite no slack in the lever just like before so im stumped :smirk:

• dgcars

Posted July 26, 2011 - 10:41 AM

Put the bike on its side and remove the clutch cover. With the lever pulled, make sure all the plates are free. Check also that the basket fingers have no deep notches.

• bmonnig

Posted July 26, 2011 - 01:12 PM

Well, what a convenient thread. :smirk: I have a friend's WR 450 that I'm looking at. Same symptoms as the OP. Clutch is dragging. When disengaged at idle, it'll still bog down and kill the bike. When you pull up to a stop after riding, you can't get the bike out of gear without killing it first.

I threw the bike on it's side and pulled the clutch cover. The gasket and fiber plates look new, so I guess someone has been in there recently. The hub fingers show signs of wear / grooving, but nothing too bad. I did notice that about 4 (or was it 3?) of the steels were "domed". Those 3 or four were noticeable by the naked eye. The other plates (5 or so, IIRC) seemed to be flat.

Would this be causing my issue? If so, do I need to replace all the plates, or just the domed ones?

• dgcars

Posted July 26, 2011 - 01:34 PM

Use a straight edge & replace those that are not flat. If they have been running like that for a while....the fibres will be shot too.

• Krannie McKranface

Posted July 26, 2011 - 01:42 PM

Yup, one bad metal plate will over heat the clutch, and eventually warp all the outer metal plates, which in turn wear out the fibers.

• bmonnig

Posted July 26, 2011 - 02:06 PM