Changing BRP fork oil?

9 replies to this topic
  • scorch

Posted September 03, 2003 - 03:44 PM

I am not very good at doing this sort of stuff. But Ive heard I should change the fork oil, I do not know if the last owner of the bike changed it, but I want to be sure. I also want to put great on the pivot point on the xr.

I have unscrewed the 8 bolts on the forks, removed the front wheel and headlight, the front brake etc.. And loosened the top nut on each fork. But they still do not come out. Is there something I am missing?

• scorch

Posted September 03, 2003 - 08:26 PM

Just got opened up the fork and poured the oil into a container. The oil came out really yucky, very dark.. The oil was very very nasty looking. Kinda like snot.

Anyone, should I put a 5w oil in there?

Im guessing since this fork oil change was not done, this bike will need the obvious maintenance to the other brp probs. :)

• Big_D

Posted September 03, 2003 - 08:41 PM

Just put some fresh Silcoline 5w fork oil in my BRP and it smoothed out the fork a bunch. Not as harsh with no increase in bottoming. I should not have waited so long!

One hint, run the center rod up and down a bunch of times to make sure all the air bleeds out from the rebound valving.

Good Luck! :)

• Freakboy

Posted September 03, 2003 - 09:35 PM

When changing the fork oil, did you use any of the special tools as described on www.xr650r.net, did you purchase the fork tool (from honda) or did you just use standard tools you had in your shop?

• scorch

Posted September 04, 2003 - 06:23 AM

When changing the fork oil, did you use any of the special tools as described on www.xr650r.net, did you purchase the fork tool (from honda) or did you just use standard tools you had in your shop?

Im not sure I did it right then. I just removed the top thing, and turned the whole fork over and let the oil come out. Isnt that what im sopposed to do? But for that, i just used regular tools.

Is there something else im sopposed to do?