Seeking advise for racing

13 replies to this topic
  • Guest_Guest_*

Posted June 03, 2001 - 06:15 PM

I am new to the four strokers and have a few questions on how to deal with various track conditions. First, I have a 01' 426 with a WB pipe, down one on front spocket, and suspension revalve for my weight. Do you guys clutch out of coners? I have a hard time with small rythm jumps out of tight corners. I can jump a 65' Table top with a good run, but the tight stuff is hard for me. Next, I have found that by running in second gear the compression of the motor is slowing me down, at the last practice I upshifted to third and it seemed to help. Lastly, on my start I have tried to use the bump on the back of my tech 6 boots to up shift to third so I can keep my feet closer to the ground, anyone else try that? Anyway sorry for the long question, but any advise would be appriciated. Thanks

• yz426mx

Posted June 03, 2001 - 06:56 PM

I have a 2000 426(stock).I have raced several tracks,and it works best for me to keep it in third gear and just use the clutch to corner.As far as starts,what gear do you use? i start off in second to try and keep the front wheel down.What kind of trouble are you having with the smaller jumps?

• Guest_Guest_*

Posted June 03, 2001 - 08:15 PM

I start in second and shift into third. The problem with the small jumps is a section with four and most people roll the first two and double the last two. The entry into the section has a tight corner so you dont have a run at it. I have seen people on 426's seem to launch from a dead stop and clear 20' with no run at it. I guess thats what I am after. Thanks for the reply.

• BBRguy

Posted June 03, 2001 - 08:36 PM