getting off the ground

8 replies to this topic
  • DerekJohnson

Posted June 01, 2001 - 12:05 PM

Just started riding again after about 15 years. Picked up a '01426 about a month ago and finally feel comfortable on it. I am controlling the bike and not the other way around. Now I would like to start getting the thing off of the ground. Any tips or pointers on getting good jumps (and good landings) would be appreciated.
Thanks!

• Guest_Guest_*

Posted June 01, 2001 - 12:26 PM

Just a word of wisdom...........
Keep the Rubber side down and the flesh side UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

------------------
NOPE..........BOY.......
That's not thunder ridin' your BUTT .........
It's a whole Damn HURRICANE!!!!!!

• Tom_N

Posted June 01, 2001 - 12:26 PM

I know what you mean, I have been learning to ride my 98 400f for about 5 months and am just now getting comfortable on larger jumps. The best advice I could give (as a rookie myself) is to start small and always keep on the gas even if its only a little jump. They are not like the 2-smokes which will carry their momentum when you let off the gas.

The tendancy is to let off the thottle on the face of the jump or at least at the take off point and if you do you will come down nose first every time. I would suggest getting your speed up before the take off and just keep enough gas on to keep your momentum and carry it on through the take off.. If your not careful, when you let off the gas the engine braking will bring your nose down or even make you come up short.

I am now finding that after practicing keeping on the gas that I can hit some jumps slower than I first did and just give it a blip of gas off the face and can hop over most of the small to medium stuff... These things have ton's of power its been a challenge learning to use it for sure.

Again I am a rookie myself and it's all been stuff I have read here and practiced at the track. There are some great guys here who can give you tons of good advice.

Good luck!