1999 yz400f popping and banging under load??

9 replies to this topic
  • webby06_2007

Posted July 03, 2011 - 11:20 AM

hi new to the forum and from the UK,

i brought a 1999 yz400f today tested it up the road was running fine got it home and over the field started it went up the field and it started spluttering though rev range im going to change spark plug tomorrow fresh fuel as it has been standing for a few months and clean carb out is there any other problems that it could be?? i also noticed that if you lean bike side to side the revs pick up slightly and when its upright it ticks okish did die for no apparent reason on the spot earlyer too??

would be great if someone could offer some advice,

hope you can understand me im a bit of a newbie on forums and computers lol :thumbsup:

• saveahondafoundation

Posted July 03, 2011 - 11:28 AM

sounds like bad gas , the most common culprit. or a burnt or tight exhaust valve

• webby06_2007

Posted July 03, 2011 - 12:14 PM

i hope new plug and fresh fuel solve the problem i really do, it almost feels like it cuts out and back in loads pops and bangs does it under loads but doesnt seem to bad on the spot!

• l_campionero

Posted July 03, 2011 - 12:18 PM

Check the valve clearances....I bet you'll find one or more that are too tight.

• QuietFlight

Posted July 03, 2011 - 02:57 PM

Probably jarred some debris in the body free and clogged the pilot circuit. Could need new jets as the pilot is difficult to clean out.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • ttr250dude

Posted July 03, 2011 - 08:56 PM

Use premium no ethonal gas!!

• webby06_2007

Posted July 04, 2011 - 07:44 AM

update

today i cleaned fuel tank out as fuel smelt a bit stale then changed plug was fine when it was cold pulling well then got up to tempreture and started popping and banging, so something is going rong when its warm :thumbsup: