2006 YZ450F Miss/Hesitation

11 replies to this topic
  • LemonDrizzle

Posted July 01, 2011 - 04:13 PM

2006 YZ450F. I'm new to 4 strokes so bear with me. When I hold the throttle steady at about 1/3-1/2 throttle and am cruising in 3rd or 4th gear there is a slight hesitation here and there that almost feels like a miss. When I really lay into the throttle it pulls like a mother and the hesitation is not there. What I'm thinking is that the jetting is off somewhere in the needle, but I'm not sure whether I am rich or lean.

• grayracer513

Posted July 01, 2011 - 06:03 PM

If the miss is irregular, you're probably lean. First try adjusting the pilot screw. Even if it's already set correctly for the idle mixture, fudge it rich just a little and see if it affects your stumble. If it does, then you probably need to switch to a needle with a step smaller upper diameter to make it richer from 1/8 to 1/4 throttle. I doubt you're really running half throttle at a cruise in 4th, so raising the needle won't really change anything.

If richening does not help, you may also have a misadjusted or defective TPS. If disconnecting the TPS clears up the miss, take a voltage reading per the manual before you do anything further to it. Adjusting them on an '06 is a real pain in the butt.

• LemonDrizzle

Posted July 01, 2011 - 07:10 PM

I'll give those suggestions a shot and see what happens tomorrow. I noticed the stumble when I first got the bike last week, but after I changed the pilot from a 42 to 45 it seemed to go away. Today I put in one of the thumb mixture screws so that may have changed something requiring me to make adjustments. I tried going about 1/4 turn richer while I was riding it and it didn't seem to make much of a difference but that may not have been enough to tell. Right now I am at 1.5 turns out so maybe I need to try going about 2 turns or more to test your theory.