Is the XR650r street worthy

10 replies to this topic
  • chrome-crf

Posted August 31, 2003 - 02:16 PM

Hey guys, I'm from the CRF forum, but I am seriously considering buying an XR650 to commute around town. Please inform of anything good or bad about these bikes on the street. My main question is have you guys ever had your bikes stall on you while idling. I will be sitting in traffic a lot so the 1.8 radiator cap seems as if it would do a lot of good for me. I like to fool around sometimes, so will the 650 wheelie easily with stock gearing or do you think I need to gear it up for the street? Thanks :)

• scorch

Posted August 31, 2003 - 02:52 PM

I ride my xr650r on the street quite a bit. I love this bike as a dual sport, the best I have ever had.

As far as wheelies. Im not very good at them, but 1-3 I just roll the throttle, 4-5 requires the on and off technique.

With dual sport tires, I can blow away most sportbikes on twisty roads. The only sportbike I could not catch was a gsxr1000 which kept leaving me on the straight sections, I kept reeling him on the corners.

I love my xr :)

• chrome-crf

Posted August 31, 2003 - 03:23 PM

Oh I almost forgot. Something that is very important to me is not having the bike stolen. Is there some kind of key or something that you can get for the bike to prevent someone from starting it. Will an XR650L dash work on the R.

• needsprayer

Posted August 31, 2003 - 03:30 PM

I am dual sported in AZ. Run 15/48 gearing and take the BRP out to a MX track occasionally. I can wheelie in all of the following gearing: 13/48, 14/48 and 15/48. For highway use I like 15/48. I was behind a slow delivery truck last saturday, following at 50 mph (4th gear), I made a quick pass when the opportunity presented itself. When I looked down I was doing 80 mph. Hadn't even begun to wind out the BRP.

I don't spend as much time at traffic lights as you would in a bigger city. What time I have spent sitting has never presented a problem.