Choke won't stay open: what did I do?

2 replies to this topic
  • ack1961

Posted June 21, 2011 - 05:16 PM

All,

Sorry to be a pain after owning this bike for 3 days, but...
I picked up an '03 WR450 this weekend - my first real 4 stroke. It has a few minor issues, the most significant was fuel pouring out of the float bowl overflow constantly as soon as you open the petcock. It runs like a champ.

Let me preface the following problem description: I'm no mechanic, but I try.

Today, I took the carb off and removed the float bowl, cleaned out the jets, removed the float, needle and pin to inspect. It was all pretty dirty, so I gave everything a good soak. I didn't see any glaring issues with the float mechanism, so I reassembled everything. After putting on the tank, I opened the petcock and....no fuel leak. Yet. I hope it was dirt causing the float to stick. I'll keep the petcock open all day tomorrow and check for leaks.

Went to fire it up and I noticed that the Cold Choke (which I did not remove from the carb) will not stay open by itself. I can't tell from the exploded view of the Keihin FCR MX39 whether or not the Hot Start (which I did remove from the top of the carb) in someway interacts with the Cold Choke or not...

I apologize if this topic has been addressed, but I searched for "choke" but didn't see any matches for this topic.

BTW, I can't believe how much stuff you need to take off to work on this carb. This must be a real bear to work on out in the field.

Any advice would be welcomed - hope to ride it this weekend.
Steve

Edited by ack1961, June 21, 2011 - 06:42 PM.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • zibbit u2

Posted June 21, 2011 - 07:56 PM

My 04 does the same thing. There's supposidly 2 ways to fix it.

1. buy a new choke assy 5TA-14171-00-00