How to make a YZ450F trail-ready

27 replies to this topic
  • flwildcatfl

Posted June 09, 2011 - 11:15 AM

I am a relatively novice rider who wanted a bike mostly for trail riding with an occasional trip around the track. I found a nice 2009 YZ450F for what seemed like a reasonable price and figured I'd grow into the bike (skill-wise that is; size-wise I'm 5'10, 200lbs and can handle the weight). But in taking it out just twice now, I realize it is NOT your ideal trail bike. I found it to be really torquey at low speeds. I kill it far too often and subsequently wear myself out kicking it to life again.

I'm considering a few different things to tweak it and would appreciate the expertise of some more experienced vets - which would you recommend?

Option 1: Rekluse Z-Start Pro clutch. I understand this will help tremendously with killing the engine and most people who have one rave about its all around performance. $600 is a bit steep though.

Option 2: Re-gear it. Stock is 13/49 and I'm leaning to a 14/49 or 15/49 but would be open to any other suggestions. (Also - how do I know what chain I need?). I'm thinking this will help make the bike more manageable at low speeds in those tight areas. But would it even be necessary w/ the Rekluse?

Option 3: Add a Fly Wheel Weight (8oz+). As I understand it, this will help with killing it and is a cheaper (albeit less effective) option than the Rekluse. Is this even worth it, though?

Option 4: Sell the bike and get a true trail bike - something like a KTM 250 XCF-W for roughly the same investment.

Option 5: ???

Any input is appreciated - thanks!

• Dirt-rich

Posted June 09, 2011 - 11:18 AM

Option 1,2 seem like it would do the trick but if your doing more trail stuff with the once in a while track trip it would make sense to have get a trail bike or put some more time in riding the Yz And you will adapt

Edited by Dirt-rich, June 09, 2011 - 11:21 AM.
Fat fingers strike again

• johnny6speed