Frame Concerns on New to me 08' 450F

11 replies to this topic
  • 08yz450frider

Posted May 29, 2011 - 04:39 PM

I just purchased this 2008 yz450f a few weeks ago.Its my first time on a bike in about 5 years. I took it to the local track and found something concerning when I was cleaning it after the ride.

It looks like the chain has chewed into the left inner frame rail.. The chain is adjusted to spec so I am not sure what has caused this... I am a pretty big guy who cases jumps on occasion..

Will this frame hold up over the next 3-5 years? Is this common at all?

The bike is SWEEEETTT otherwise. Previous owner said it had 20-25 hrs on it and it looks and rides the part..

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

• crf450319

Posted May 29, 2011 - 05:58 PM

That's very common, in fact I'd bet if you look at most bikes at the track you'll see similar wear on a lot of them. Usually if there's too much slack in the chain it'll slap and hit the frame.

It won't affect the integrity of the frame at all, keep the chain adjusted properly from now on and ride that thing !!

• grayracer513

Posted May 29, 2011 - 10:31 PM

It's not a major concern, but DON'T tighten the chain beyond the minimum specified 1.9" under any circumstance. Read:

http://www.thumperta...182#post8906182

One thing that will make your chain hit the frame (or the mud flap) excessively is a combination of a worn chain and and out of alignment rear wheel. Be sure you don't make the somewhat common mistake of counting marks on the axle blocks from front to back. The left side has a flange on the front edge to keep the axle from rotating when it's tightened or loosened, and that "covers up" one mark. Read them from back to front. Double check the alignment for accuracy the first time or two before trusting the marks entirely.

• RiderX

Posted May 30, 2011 - 04:08 PM