99 YZ400F oil leak at exhaust head

5 replies to this topic
  • donnyboy32

Posted May 23, 2011 - 11:14 AM

Hello everyone. I am new to this forum and fairly new to dirt bike mechaincs. I bought a 99 YZ400F last year and it was running terribly. A valve adjustment and rebuild of the carb made it run like new but I have a new problem.

There is oil leaking (about one drip every 10 seconds while running) from the exhaust head where it goes in to the engine. My question is, should this even be happening at all? Is it simply a leaking exhaust gasket? I replaced the gasket last year as you have to take the exhaust off to change the oil filter. Like I said, I am a novice so it could be simple but I have no idea. Thank you for any response

• silentv311

Posted May 23, 2011 - 05:24 PM

If the bike has never had a top-end job, or at least for some time, could be oil blowing by the rings because of normal ware. Also, be sure the oil level is not over filled.

• donnyboy32

Posted May 23, 2011 - 05:40 PM

was worried it may be blowing by piston rings. Just started doing this and no the oil level is not too high. Gets too low in fact because it is leaking and I have to add some. Probably has not had a top end job as the last owner had not done any maintenance. Thanks for the reply. Just to make sure, oil should not even be reaching the exhaust head and gasket correct? Sry if this is a dumb question but I have learned everything through the clymer book. As good as it is for repairing stuff it does not help much with understanding or diagnosing problems. This is not simply a leaking exhaust gasket? Thanks again

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • baxterj787

Posted May 23, 2011 - 06:27 PM

Replace the decompressor arm seal. Or find / replace the o-rings around the decomp plug if the bike has an autodecomp system and the PO has removed the manual decomp assembly.