Hot Start Plunger Stuck, Attempt Removal or Do Without It?

12 replies to this topic
  • Bobbed06

Posted May 18, 2011 - 12:14 PM

I recently aquired a almost new 03 YZF 450 that has had about 6 tanks of fuel ran thru it. Naturally the bike sat most of its life and the carb needed gone through. Upon removal I discovered the Hot Start Plunger is corroded and stuck in the body. Grayracer has already provided excellent info regarding removal of this, however I am concerned that I may damage the carb and render the Hot Start useless.

Here is my question

If I do botch the removal of the Hot Start, is the carb still completely usable?
Can I block it off and forget about it?
Many guys say they NEVER use it anyways?

I am not going to attempt removal until I know more about this. This is my first 450 4 stroke as I have always ridden smokers until now, so if this question seems newbie it is because I am new to the race bred 4 strokers.

Here is a link to my original thread that I started but I thought I would make a more specific thread related to this topic.

http://www.thumperta...21#post10359321

• grayracer513

Posted May 18, 2011 - 12:19 PM

Your answer is in your other post:

http://www.thumperta...38#post10359338

• William1

Posted May 18, 2011 - 12:23 PM

If you are terrified about messing it up and that the bike sat forever, you can take the carb to a machine shop, explain what you need to have removed, explain the materials of the part and let them do it it or you can simply send the carb out to a good place for a proper cleaning in the correct solvent in a ultrasonic cleaner.

That all said... every person who has had a hot start plunger stick did get it out on thier own. Soak with PB Blaster, each morning before work, tapping gently with the handle of a screwdriver to vibrate the stuff in the nooks and crannies. Use a small slide hammer and pop it out.

• Bobbed06

Posted May 18, 2011 - 12:30 PM