Honda XR650L Honda NX250 Honda NX650

• Please sign in to reply

119 replies to this topic
  • brianhare
3,805 posts
Garage View Garage

Posted May 08, 2011 - 08:09 AM

INTRO:

I know this has been gone over alot....but it`s about time i put together a thread to show how i do this for people interested in repairing their own CDI on the XR650L,NX250 and 650 and also the Transalp,which all share the same type case,plugs,and potting material.....and also the same problem.....bad solder joints.....

What brought me into this a few years back is i had a rideabilty problem with my XRL,it would stall once a month for no reason,then it became a weekly thing...but would instantly restart.Then close to the end of fall of 08 it would quit,and not restart for hours,so i did some looking and found that others had this problem and it was CDI related.......

Being an auto tech i also knew Honda has this problem on their DRL (daytime running light) module....the DRL module is easily repaired,the board just slides out of a plastic case and the solder joints easily repaired and put back into service.....

So i decided to tear into the CDI,i had nothing to lose,it was junk anyway,i found the same issues,bad solder joints,i repaired them and the CDI is still running after 2 years or better...

I`ve been repairing these for members here and ADVrider ever since for free.Lately people have shown interest in doing it themselves,which is great since it saves me work:thumbsup:

So i`m going to put my procedure in here,so others can tell if the CDI is the problem,repair it themselves,and i can drink beer instead of fixing these every weekend:moon:

I`LL BE ADDING TO THIS THREAD FOR DAYS,I`M LAZY:smirk:

B

Edited by brianhare, May 11, 2011 - 02:21 PM.

• martinfan30 and purplesqueze like this
  • Like This

• brianhare
3,805 posts
Garage View Garage

Posted May 08, 2011 - 08:09 AM