low end bog 2008 yz 450f

11 replies to this topic
  • lanny574

Posted April 28, 2011 - 11:48 AM

I have been practicing at this track and there is a table to table into a triple and when I land off the second table and crack the throttle real hard in mid air close to the landing ramp to seat bounce over the triple it bogs real hard and I case it everytime. I have been playing around with the jets but nothing seems to be working. Would this have anything to do with the leak jet?

• Octanee

Posted April 28, 2011 - 08:26 PM

i personally would say, maybe you should clean your carbs out totaly?, maybe somethings plugged in that carb? i would check up on that, as far as low end bog, thats odd and im thinking a dirty carb will do that,

• Yamiryder

Posted April 29, 2011 - 06:41 AM

I'm not an expert but the o-ring mod might help as well as a boyeson quick shot

• rcdude33

Posted April 29, 2011 - 08:41 AM

+1 on the oring mod!!

I did it to my 09 yz450f and boy did it make a difference. The bog is still there but it's 10 times better than it was. Also make get it rejetted to.

• grayracer513

Posted April 29, 2011 - 09:09 AM

The quickshot is just so much bait to catch your money.

The O-ring mod is effective but the heavier linkage spring from Merge Racing is a much more workmanlike and permanent way to do exactly the same thing. The O-ring will eventually dry up, crack, and fall off.

Always remember that there is virtually no way to have your bike capable of tolerating an instant idle to WOT snap of the throttle without it adversely affecting other facets of the engine's performance, and it shouldn't be expected to accomplish that without EFI (if then). Riders need to learn to "roll" the throttle open a bit more gracefully. Not really slower, just smoother. Still, if the engine won't respond reasonably well, it needs some improvement.

• Yamiryder

Posted April 29, 2011 - 03:46 PM