Which paddle tire and why?

13 replies to this topic
  • SledParty

Posted April 25, 2011 - 03:20 PM

I'm completely new to sand riding, done it a few times in Eastern WA but a paddle was a bit overkill since the sand was hard(er) Heading to moses lake and oregon in the coming weeks and I heard a paddle tire is a MUST in oregon cause of the fine, ultra light sand conditions there.

So... I'm looking at tires..

What do I get? I'm aggressive on the throttle and I see there are paddle tires with 6-10 paddles. This is confusing to me. Also width and blah blah blah.

I'm running a 99 YZ400F :thumbsup:

• blueberg17

Posted April 26, 2011 - 05:59 AM

8 paddle. 110/80-19 or 100/80-18 depending on what size rim your 400 has.

• humpness

Posted April 26, 2011 - 07:31 AM

I was reading alot about people recommending an 8 paddle for 450s. I arrived in Florence and 10 paddle was the paddle to get suggested by the bike shop there. I am not sure of the difference of power between the 400 and 450. the 10 got me around awesome but I am unsure of the 400(not too familiar).

You might have to add a link. I just barely cleared the swingarm but I destroyed the little mud flap thingy. I was close to the middle on the axle blocks.

• SledParty

Posted April 26, 2011 - 10:25 AM

@EOZYF I never even thought about clearance so thanks for posting that, definitly something to consider. I'm assuming the more paddles the more the bike has to work to turn the tire? Like putting 33's on a pickup geared for 235/75/15 all season radials.

I've found a 8 paddle I think I'm gonna snag today. I dont know how much more power the 450 puts out either but my bike rips.

Thanks for the replies it helps :-)

• SEOINAGE

Posted April 26, 2011 - 12:34 PM

http://www.motorcycl...&WT.MC_ID=10010