Oil drain from oil filter cover

15 replies to this topic
  • WRLuisSa

Posted April 24, 2011 - 11:12 PM

Hi,

I have an 05 WR450 and the other day I did the usual maintenance (oil change, oil filter change and spark plug).
Everything seemed to go fine but as I was riding the other day I noticed a really small amount of oil draining (not dripping) from the bottom of the oil filter cover. I did wipe it out and thought that it could have been from oil that was not completely cleaned from oil filter cover. I continued riding and nothing happened after wiping it.
The next day, I used the bike again and exactly the same happened.
Thus, now I have been using the bike for a couple of days and the same problem persists.

Furthermore, I have not seen any oil coming out from the bolts that tighten the oil filter cover and as far as I know they are not stripped (I might be wrong as I am a newbie on this, but the bolts still tighten properly).

I know that the issue might also be from the o-rings but did not buy a new set of o-rings yet for the oil filter cover.

Meanwhile, I would like to know your opinion on this please. What do you suggest?

Thank you.
Regards.

• Justinyz250

Posted April 25, 2011 - 12:37 AM

try some new o-rings. you might have some dirt or just a knicked edge

• WRLuisSa

Posted April 25, 2011 - 11:20 AM

Anymore opinions anyone??

Would it be safe to ride it like this until the next oil replacement? (As long as I keep an eye on the amount of oil in the engine)

• danfromnb

Posted April 25, 2011 - 06:11 PM

You more than likely have a piece of dirt behind an o ring or dropped one of the small ones that go around the bolts.

• mikewrf18

Posted April 26, 2011 - 09:52 PM

You more than likely have a piece of dirt behind an o ring or dropped one of the small ones that go around the bolts.