Eric Gorr 295 ride review

70 replies to this topic
  • scottwvu

Posted April 22, 2011 - 06:17 AM

Just the facts. I work at a Yamaha-Polaris dealership in southern WV. We convinced a good customer of ours to get the 295 kit in his 2005 YZ 250.
I got to ride it for about half an hour to check it out. He had it ported for an "over-all" power increase. Here is what I noticed.
Power- Simply amazing. I have been riding 450's since 2004, and this thing RIPS! It pulls hard from bottom to top, with a nice, healthy "hit" in the midrange. I didn't notice the usual amount of wheelspin I usually get when I jump on a 2-stroke (cause i'm so used to 4-strokes), the power gets to the ground nicely.
This thing can eat up hills with ease. The most fun I had on the ride was shooting up this STEEP hill behind the shop. The YZ had NO problems, and power WAS NOT an issue. It also acted like it felt right at home being lugged around on the slower, more technical parts of the trail.
Sooooo, this morning, I threw down $1995 for a 2006 YZ 250, and plan on getting the EXACT same set-up on my machine. Can't wait!!!!!

Edited by scottwvu, April 22, 2011 - 06:18 AM.
missed a word

Posted April 22, 2011 - 06:31 AM

Just the facts. I work at a Yamaha-Polaris dealership in southern WV. We convinced a good customer of ours to get the 295 kit in his 2005 YZ 250.
I got to ride it for about half an hour to check it out. He had it ported for an "over-all" power increase. Here is what I noticed.
Power- Simply amazing. I have been riding 450's since 2004, and this thing RIPS! It pulls hard from bottom to top, with a nice, healthy "hit" in the midrange. I didn't notice the usual amount of wheelspin I usually get when I jump on a 2-stroke (cause i'm so used to 4-strokes), the power gets to the ground nicely.