Rode a BRP yesterday not sure should I buy one??? Need help

17 replies to this topic
  • Carlisle1972

Posted August 09, 2003 - 07:51 AM

I have a 2001 wr 250 right now have had a lot of problems with yamahas and love hondas. Do you get used to the wieght and are they much harder to ride in very tecnical sections, it seemed to lug much better down low so that would be a big benifit to the wr.I rarely drop bikes on any trail so picking up isn't a problem. I have been riding for 25 years and am a fast B slower A rider. Love to ride everything from tight trails to desert. Im 5'10 170lbs I want a bike that is fast, easy to ride and most of all reliable. What do you guys think should I sell my slow, light, blue finiky bike for a BRP? Every time I tell one of my buds Im looking at a BRP they go crazy and think Im insane to even think that I try to explain but they wont listen, Im hoping to prove them wrong. Thanks to all Im losing sleep :)

• needsprayer

Posted August 09, 2003 - 02:27 PM

You do get used to the weight as long as you don't want to do MX style jumps. If you are in stuff that is so techincal that you have to always have one leg down to push off of obstacles you will need to do some squats to build up your leg muscles. :D

I rode at Nomads Park (southern AZ) today on my BRP. Had fun on single track, round track (slightly banked and very sandy) and the MX track. I was taking some advice, in order to get better with the technical stuff a little MX riding will help. Well I was worn out pretty quick but had a blast. Even got surprised by a double that looked like two huge whoops the first time around. Took a little bit of the padded handlebar in the chest protector. Stayed upright and learned to roll the whole track first. :D

Got some air on a tabletop and kept the nose up. Not big air, but had fun. Best thing about the BRP is on the trails it just rolls over obstacles like they aren't even there.