YZ 426F Upgrades?

20 replies to this topic
  • PaullyD426

Posted March 29, 2011 - 12:09 PM

Hey guys,

I'm new to Thumper Talk and bikes in general. I bought my first bike last year and it's an 2001 YZ 426F. I'm absolutely loving it, but I'm wondering what are some common upgrades?

I've done some reading and heard the hotcams swap is a must. Also I want to upgrade the exhaust system, but I'm curious, does the YZ 450 exhaust systems bolt up to my bike?

Thanks for any help,

• pembell

Posted March 29, 2011 - 12:17 PM

Hi there,
I've got a 2002 and the only changes I've made are to put some bar risers on it and move the gear and foot brake levers for comfort! Otherwise it's great.

I'd suggest it depends what you will use it for. I ride in the dunes here, so the cam mod is not important to me - if you were doing racing of any sort, that would be more useful, I'd suggest.

Mine came with a desert tank, which is great for range, but again, not so great for racing. Pic attached.

Posted Image

• grayracer513

Posted March 29, 2011 - 01:06 PM

In general, no, YZ450 exhausts don't fit. You may have some luck with slip-on setups for '03-'05 bikes that are made with the mid pipe separate from the muffler, and that have the muffler top mounting done with a clamp that can be repositioned easily. Likewise, certain full systems for the earlier 450's may fit with some tweaking.

If doing the cam mod these days, use a cam like the Hot Cams that was built for the 426 specifically. OEM prices are currently high enough that there is no advantage to using them over the Hot Cams, etc., and the purpose built cam can be timed in the normal manner, rather than the fudging necessary to use a Yamaha 450 part in the bike.

Avoid used cams, and especially those from an '07 or later, as the timing of those is less compatible with your engine.

• PaullyD426

Posted March 29, 2011 - 08:02 PM