Help! (Banging noise)

5 replies to this topic
  • Raphi_Hanessian

Posted April 23, 2001 - 02:06 PM

I own a Yamaha 1999 YZ400, which I have owned for a little over 1 year. I have been riding for ~ 2 years and ride a 60/40 track to trail ratio. My riding terrain covers anywhere from Pismo Beach to Big Bear California.

I have been experiencing a problem with my bike but not so often that it requires a service call. This has happened 3 times since I have owned the bike and it's been difficult to associate it with any one item: new air filter (Installed dry with tacky spray 1-2 days prior to ride), new oil change, elevation (2000-7000'), outside temperature (32-75 F), or after I wash my bike.

When I start my bike (w/choke), it turns over after a few kicks and idles fine and I usually let it warm up for ~ 5 minutes. After it is warm, as I start to turn the throttle, 3-4 mm, I get a really loud banging sound, if I continue to turn the throttle the engine dies and it seems like it's not getting enough air/gas? This exercise usually continues for ~ 10 minutes in which I continue to turn the throttle and listen to the loud banging. Over the span of 10 minutes it seems to get better until all of a sudden it will open up and rev normally.

This banging occurs only at the beginning of the ride and my bike rides fine the rest of the day with no riding or starting issues, until last weekend. This occurrence happened after a 4-hour ride at around 7000'.

Thanks for taking the time to read this memo and for your response.

RaphiH

• mcarp

Posted April 24, 2001 - 06:46 AM

My guess is that you're running a little lean, so the bike isn't warming up quickly. Another guess is you're spark plug gap is off or maybe the header needs to tightened a little.

It doesn't hurt to remove the carb and clean it up, too. Maybe there's some crud in the float bowl.

• mcarp

Posted April 24, 2001 - 06:46 AM