Need help with my first thumper (07 450)

5 replies to this topic
  • colemanian

Posted March 26, 2011 - 07:28 AM

Hi folks, I started riding again about a year ago and i bought an 02 ktm 300 two smoke. It was a good bike but I started riding some harescrambles and I figured I would go ahead and get something newer.... I came across a good deal on a low hour 07 yz450f so I got it and started lurking around the forrums trying to find out what I needed to get to make this beast a little more woods friendly. Here is what I've done so far

First thing I did was get a jd jetting kit because my bike was a little hard to start and this helped but it still seems to take a few kicks when the bike is hot to get it going again. Four stroke blues i guess

Second was the gearing, I went to a 51 tooth sunstar and this made a large improvment in the woods.

Third was a flywheel weight, I ordered the gyrt 9.2 ounce but have yet to use it because of reasons i will explain later.

I also did the normal stuff like new tires and chain because the bike had all the original stuff on it. (really low hour)

Now for the help part. I raced a harescramble last week and was in the lead untill the last quarter mile of the race. I crashed on a hill and CRUSHED the header pipe.( fww showed up after the race so that is why I havnt tried it out yet) I was wondering if I should try to find an oem takeoff pipe or if I should go ahead and get an aftermarket complete system like the dr.d or fmf. I know you cant decide if its worth it for me but I would like to know if any of these kits made a REAL difference in the woods/low end power. This bike has tons of topend so I could sacrifice some if it helped the lowend.

Also this bike is really harsh in the fast rocky sections and I was considering getting the suspension redone. There's a local guy that sells the Smart performance stuff and it is pretty affordable so I was wanting some opinions on woods riding suspension mods.