Quick question on EFI air filter?

8 replies to this topic
  • powers450f

Posted March 25, 2011 - 08:37 AM

You now how you put grease around the rim of a air filter and around where the bolt hole is on a carb bike 4 or 2 stroke. With the EFI bike does this still need to be done with the flat air filter? I realize that this a dumb question but somebody brought it up and am just curios. Thanks

• grayracer513

Posted March 25, 2011 - 08:54 AM

You now how you put grease around the rim of a air filter and around where the bolt hole is on a carb bike...?

I'll take your word for it. I use Maxima FFT on mine, so no such measures are necessary. The oil does all necessary sealing just fine.

• powers450f

Posted March 25, 2011 - 08:57 AM

Well see that's the thing people on hear don't go to some of the measures that us northern boys do. I don't know a single person that doesn't grease the ring of there air filter and I have been racing two strokes for ten years. New to four strokes especially the efi bikes and it doesn't make sense to grease the ring the way that the cage clamps down. Anyone else have an opinion.

• sean3239

Posted March 25, 2011 - 11:08 AM

In the past I always used grease in these areas although, I can see how with some of these filter oils which are so sticky, you wouldn't need the grease. On the 10 YZ450, I don't use grease because of the design. I worry more about making sure the cage is pressing down on all parts of the filter and that one corner somehow didn't sneak under the cage edge.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • powers450f

Posted March 25, 2011 - 12:02 PM