Large/Custom Gear Needed

13 replies to this topic
  • TooBig

Posted April 16, 2001 - 11:49 AM

Hey Guys,

I've been lurking around here for the past month or so since I picked up my new YZ426. I thought maybe someone might have a solution to my gear problem.

Essentially, I'm too big (read wide) to be riding one of these damn things. But I've been riding motorcycles since I was three years old and they're just too much damn fun. Obviously I'm not getting all crazy going for air and such, but I do like to head out and tear up the trails...

That said, I need some good gear. Obviously I don't expect to pick up everything in my size, but currently none of the important stuff (save helmet and gloves) gets that big.

More than anything, I need boots. I wear about a thirteen and tried on a number of differnt brands (AlpineStar, Axo, Thor), all are just short of going around my calf. I'm willing to fork over the dough for custom-made boots if anyone does that kind of work.

Any suggestions?

• YZ400Court

Posted April 16, 2001 - 12:02 PM

I too am a big guy. Not tall just big. 5'8" 315+lbs (yes that is the crack of my ass hanging out when I pass you). My calves measure 21.5". I wear new style Tech-8 by alpinestar size 10. I had to discard the 2nd strap from the top (too short), but the other three straps all work. The top strap on the new tech-8 is extra long, and I am going to get one of those straps for the 2nd spot. I wear Moose riding gear, as they are the only ones I have found with large enough pants 48". I still just wear a t-shirt with a tight jersey underneath. I have seen a couple of ads in the back of magazines for big guy riding gear. I think they were grey wolf anf Phatt cat.
I used to think I was too big to ride, but with some suspension work, and lots of water onboard, I find riding great fun :)
Good luck
Court
grey wolf website (no boots) http://www.greywolfgear.com/

------------------
Pretend it's flat and give it the gas.