Another Newbie Here With Questions....'03 WR450

8 replies to this topic
  • prox445

Posted March 08, 2011 - 08:24 PM

I am picking up an '03 WR450this Saturday. The motor was replaced and has around 1000 miles on it. He took the starter off because of the woodruff key issue and it is a late build. (what ever that means) I have a few questions. Any advice would be a great help.
1. I plan to ride this bike to an from work, 38miles each way. It is stop and go traffic with no more than 2 miles of non-stop riding. Speed about 55mph. Could I do this without worry of problems?
2. What kind of maintenance would prolong the life of this bike.
3. What is the "Woodruff Key Issue" and did his mod help the problem?
4.I heard about an oil issue with these motors. Could you please give me details?
5. How often should I replace the piston and ring as preventitive maintenance?
6. Can you give me some detailed things to check when I look at it?
I want to be sure this is a good buy. I am doing this to save some money on fuel and don't want to pour money into this bike and defeat the purpose of buying it. Thanks again
Jim

• prox445

Posted March 08, 2011 - 08:28 PM

Oh, I forgot to add. I am planning on putting LED turn signals on it. Will they work with the stator? It currently has a headlight and tail light.

• _Hitman47

Posted March 09, 2011 - 01:12 AM

Hey, I'll try to answer those question. If I got it correctly, you'll be riding the bike on pavement, 80 miles a day. You'll get really uncomfortable on that bike because it isnt designed to be ridden in that way. Gearbox could be damaged on pavement, gear ratios are designed for trail riding so you'll be riding on higher rpm on pavement. You'll have to get some decent street tires aswell. plus maintenance is more than you'd want from a commuting bike. IMHO, what you're looking for is Suzie DRZ400 or WR250X. but, if you still want to get it, than here it goes: