Need to hear to ride?

4 replies to this topic
  • groundhog

Posted July 31, 2003 - 04:08 PM

Two weeks ago I woke up and could not hear a thing out of my right ear. Overnight. Many $$ later in dr. stuff I find that I have “sudden hearing loss”. No [@#$%&*!], but good name. Tons of drugs have not produced any results. MRI of the brain yesterday (saw a pix – there’s still stuff in there) – nothing. (PS – don’t let them put you in one of those little tunnels if you don’t have to – I like tight single track, but [@#$%&*!]---) Dr. said not a lot of hope of regaining hearing on that side.

I know there are tons of people who ride with far more limitations than this. However, I am new to this and looking for pointers. This isn’t a self-help group, but you guys can relate to this while my (non-riding) friends think riding should be the least important of my concerns (how little do they know) - & I need some advice.

OK, the hearing may be history. But I haven’t ridden since this happened (I usually ride 1 – 3 days a week). What’s happening is this; my balance is fine, I hear some strange noises in that ear, but nothing you wouldn’t expect with a severe cold plugged ear. But I don’t feel 100%. If I am sick (hung-over) and feel somewhat this way I usually don’t ride ‘cause I know I won’t be fast, safe, having fun – whatever – I never thought about it. I ride hard and if I don’t feel like I can ride hard I just don’t ride. I never thought about it, I just didn’t want to ride because somewhere in my subconscious I knew I wasn’t going to be at the top of my abilities. Pushing my limits is where I need to ride to have fun. It’s where I have fun.

Now, with part of one of my senses on the blink I do not feel I am aware enough to ride the way I always have. I know that sound is probably the least important sense to riding, but I still feel less than 100%, which makes me feel like I can’t ride 100% - which is the only way I enjoy it (at least the only way I have enjoyed it).