2010 Ride report after some TMR Motor Work

7 replies to this topic
  • MXR176

Posted February 22, 2011 - 08:58 AM

Ok I finally got some nice riding weather. Im a Vet Pro/A/Expert rider. I had Tom do the head work, map the ECU, and perform the Air Box Mod. I also installed the Stage 2 Hot Cams 12:5:1 Wiseco piston, Full FMF Exhaust and VP U4.4 Fuel that he mapped it for. He said the last motor he did identical to this was a 60hp motor. After breaking the motor in and rechecking the valves, I noticed how unbelievable the throttle response was and how clean it sounded. I was anxious to ride it.

Ok once on the track I noticed that the power was really really smooth and easy to ride. The thing has good grunt off the bottom pulls really smooth through the middle and then Revs to the moon and when I say Revs thats exactly what I mean. You can either ride this thing super lazy and grunt the motor or short shift it. Or you can ride rev it if you want. Im very happy with this thing. Definately highly recommend Toms Work. I wish I had a Dyno here locally. I would love to see the numbers on this thing at what it pulls and see the power and torque curve. Im so happy..... :smirk:

• jaro51

Posted February 22, 2011 - 11:12 AM

I was just asking about motor work for the 2010's on a different thread and this is the type of first hand info I'm after, thanks!

Link or contact info for "Tom"?

I'm coming off of a 250 that liked to be reved so when I hopped on a buddies '10 450 I had a hard time adjusting to the power delivery. I'm sure I can adapt my riding style to short shift and use the low end power but I would really prefer to have a nice strong linear pull from bottom to top.