CR Brakeline

7 replies to this topic
  • Wicked_Crash

Posted July 24, 2003 - 12:02 PM

Has anyone done the CR style brakeline routing on a WR and kept the headlight? :)

• BrandonW

Posted July 24, 2003 - 12:05 PM

I did it, routed the cable behind the numberplate. Did not work too well.

#1. My brakes were still squishy;
#2. The new cable was "kinked" a little from the routing, and it started leaking, so I went back to stock.

Waste of my money, but I think others have had much better luck that I.

• The_Blue_One

Posted July 24, 2003 - 12:56 PM

What kind of line did you use?I was going to get the rideengineering line that is made for the wr.Was this the one you used?

• RCannon

Posted July 24, 2003 - 01:12 PM

The ride engineering line is decent. The line has fittings that move around to eliminate the kinks. I have been using one for several months and have had no problems.

Did it help the mushy brakes? Maybe a little. I had much better luck :) changing the stock akebono mastercylinder for a Honda CR model. If the line improved performance 10%, I would be surprised.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • BrandonW

Posted July 24, 2003 - 01:22 PM

I believe that the line I had was manufactured by Fastline, or something very similar to that. FastSOMETHING....

• MN_Kevin

Posted July 24, 2003 - 01:52 PM

I had much better luck changing the stock akebono mastercylinder for a Honda CR model.

How much $$$$$$ for the Nissan master cylinder...???

I really do miss my Honda's brakes! :)

• RCannon

Posted July 25, 2003 - 03:15 AM

I bought mine from someone on ebay. I only paid 30.00 or so.

Still, considering the short line was 60.00, the cylinder was a bargain. I had previously rebuilt the Akebono, so I know it was working as well as it could have.

• ogrebelle

Posted July 25, 2003 - 05:45 AM

Akebono :) :D :D Isn't he a sumo wrestler?

Join Our Community!