YZ450F muffler on a WR450F

11 replies to this topic
  • WR450FGreg

Posted January 25, 2011 - 01:55 PM

Guys,

This topic has been quiet for a while now.

Has anyone else put a YZ450F muffler on their WR450F recently?

If so, what do you think?

I've tried it with mine and was amazed at the result!
More power everywhere!

Cheap, easy and effective!

• comtnrider

Posted January 25, 2011 - 04:53 PM

I've been running a complete YZ exhaust on my 07' WR for 3 years. An e-bay purchase for 100.00. Been using a Pro Moto turn down end cap with spark arrestor. A marked improvement over the stock set-up for about 200.00 total cost. A good upgrade for a modest cost. :thumbsup:

• kawi380

Posted January 27, 2011 - 07:17 PM

I munched the stock head pipe on my 08 and bought a complete 09 exhaust the next day on ebay for 60 shipped and the installed the PMB spark arrestor. I liked the wr before and I like the wr now. Except it is a lot louder. Power wise it sure does seem to pull harder for longer.

• The Hill Boys

Posted January 27, 2011 - 08:13 PM

I found one for cheap, but when I put it on, I couldn't stand the popping on decel.

• djv5

Posted January 27, 2011 - 08:20 PM

I tried the full YZ system on my 2007 WR and did not care for it either.

It saved about 2 pounds of weight, and the bike seemed to rev faster to redline.

But the YZ exhaust was crazy loud, and I lost the low end power that I was used to for single track riding.

• WR450FGreg

Posted January 27, 2011 - 10:56 PM

I couldn't stand the popping on decel.

You DID re-jet to suit the new pipe didn't you? Surely?

Its a waste of time if you make any sort of exhaust mod and don't re-jet!

Greg

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • ohioryder

Posted January 28, 2011 - 07:07 AM

I tried the full YZ system on my 2007 WR and did not care for it either.

It saved about 2 pounds of weight, and the bike seemed to rev faster to redline.