bottom bolt removal kyb shock

11 replies to this topic
  • silentZ

Posted January 20, 2011 - 08:37 PM

Anybody have an idea how to get the bottom bolt out of the fork? I cannot seem to get any leverage on it. I looked around for a table vise with soft jaws, but no luck.

Any ideas on a slight modification to a regular table vise so I don't score the aluminum?

• sacfelix

Posted January 20, 2011 - 09:03 PM

Why dont you put the axel back in the lug and snug the bolts down then brake them loose first before you pull every thing apart.

• silentZ

Posted January 20, 2011 - 10:57 PM

Thanks man that did it. This is my first time doing fork seals. Trying to save money in the long run.

• grayracer513

Posted January 21, 2011 - 07:29 AM

If you mean the rebound adjuster assembly in the '05 and up fork, lay the fork on a flat surface, run a round bar through the axle lug, and loosen the adjuster. Simple.

• silentZ

Posted January 21, 2011 - 07:10 PM

I am not getting any bites in the suspension forum. Pictures included.

This is off an 08 yz450. I am the second owner. Both compression assemblies are the same.

http://www.thumperta...112#post9996112

• mdkcrf250r

Posted January 21, 2011 - 07:29 PM

Yes you can get new plastic ones or if I recall correctly there is an aluminum one offered by a suspension company. Cant remember which company. Also some suspension companies suggest drilling a relief hole. This is a common occurrence on the KYB SSS forks do some searching and you might be able to dig up a thread where I saw the relief hole suggestion.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • grayracer513

Posted January 21, 2011 - 07:41 PM

Contact Dave Johnson at SMART Performance. His web address is in my sig.

He has both the OEM plastic and the upgraded aluminum free pistons that you need. Here's more about the problem:

http://www.thumperta...ad.php?t=650136