Carburetor Help

5 replies to this topic
  • tpars121

Posted January 11, 2011 - 05:09 PM

I am trying to help a friend get his 06 yzf450 running that a previous mechanic screwed up. I have been able to get it idleing smooth and running good if you ease the throttle on but it bogs pretty bad if you blip it. Should i be able to see it squirt gas from the little brass thing sticking up by the slide when i blip the gas. I think you call it an accelerator pump? can this thing get stopped up or go bad? I'm not good with carbs so any hints or tips would be appreciated.

I just learned one more thing. With the engine not running i can take the cover off the throttle cable and i can push down the little black thing with my finger and it will squirt gas but if i just give it throttle it will not squirt, it does rotate down slowly but no squirt.

Edited by tparscrf250r, January 11, 2011 - 05:46 PM.

• ForsheeMS

Posted January 11, 2011 - 07:05 PM

Most likely a little safety wire will solve your problem. Basically you safety wire the black plastic piece to the metal piece so they both move togther. It's easy and you can do it without removing the carb.

• grayracer513

Posted January 11, 2011 - 07:27 PM

Correctly setting up the accelerator pump timing per the manual will solve the problem, too, and that will do so without binding up the throttle linkage short of full throttle.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • tpars121

Posted January 12, 2011 - 05:50 AM

I looked at it a little more closely and the accelerator pump is only moving slightly and then stops short of full stroke. I can press it with my finger and it will move the rest of the way. I cleaned the carb but I haven't open up the part where the diaphragm is. I guess I will open that up next.

Gray, Are you not a fan of tieing the accelerator pump to the throttle?

• grayracer513

Posted January 12, 2011 - 09:00 AM